A brilliant reimagining of iconic cowboy songs from the golden era of American popular music - featuring musicians from the cream of Australia’s country and jazz music scenes. Unlike anything you’ve heard before.

This collaborative work from Jen Mize and Mark Sholtez takes a fresh look at the music of the great cowboy crooners (Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, Dale Evans, Sons of the Pioneers), and like the landscape that inspired these songs, the album is rich in musical detail, yet remains wonderfully open and spacious.

On first listen, it’s clear that Mize and Sholtez are the real deal. Building on their existing bodies of creative work, and drawing from their rich and diverse musical backgrounds, they bring new life and new meaning to this timeless material. From the playful to-and-fro of “Lights of Old Santa Fe”, and “My Rifle, My Pony, and Me”, to the understated “Wand’rin’ Star”, and unapologetically heartbreaking “Black Hills of Dakota”, Mize and Sholtez’s vocal performances are charming, honest, and personal, highlighting both their commitment and connection to these songs. As a result, Twilight on the Trail feels equally nostalgic, and unexpected.

01 Home on the Range

02 Ridin’ Down the Canyon

03 Lights of Old Santa Fe

04 The Black Hills of Dakota

05 There’s a New Moon Over My Shoulder

06 Cool Water

07 My Rifle, My Pony and Me

08 Cow-Cow Boogie

09 Twilight on the Trail

10 Wand’rin’ Star

11 Piensa En Mî

12 Ridin’ Down the Canyon (reprise)

13 Red River Valley