WOW Music



Track Listing

    1. The Darkness Motive
      a. Do It
      b. Overture
      c. First Theme
      d. Second Theme
    2. Song (Guerdon...)
    3. Petworth House
    4. Song (Shall...)
    5. The Armada
      a. Scene at Sea
      b. Dominion
      c. Centuries Deep
      d. Bolero
      e. Last Picture

Bonus Track:
Julian Browning

  1. Icarus (From Symphony No. 8)
    a. Icarus and Daedalus
    b. Ascension
    c. Labyrinth Gothica
    d. Icarian Sea


Rainbow Theatre s groundbreaking debut album, The Armada was originally released in 1975.

Reissued here officially for the first time, digitally remastered with a bonus track.

Composer, arranger, guitarist and mellotron player Julian Browning at the helm. He set about creating the unique music he had formulated in his mind. His classical influences began to emerge and in the meantime he d also fallen in thrall of adventurous guitarists like King Crimson s Robert Fripp and John McLaughlin.

The King Crimson influence was certainly a key factor in the band s development because, as well as the complex arrangements that Browning was forging, the other aspect that stood Rainbow Theatre apart from the pack was the extensive use of the mellotron. Very few other Australian bands of the day even possessed, let alone knew how to incorporate the mellotron into their sound.

Package Contents

The Armada, digitally remastered and is presented in a 6 panel digi-pak with a 20 page booklet filled with rare photos & liner notes by Ian McFarlane.

Powered by SixBit
Powered by SixBit's eCommerce Solution